AAA

Members
  • Content count

    35
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

4 Neutral

About AAA

  • Rank
    Advanced Member

Recent Profile Visitors

1,029 profile views
  1. Greensomes rules.

    In the 2nd situation, I think there is a flaw. The player who hit OB could well have decided to take an unplayable for her partner's ball and taken S&D. But here is another suggestion From a respected rules expert: 1. Teeshots On each hole both players tee off from their respective teeing grounds. Before the 2nd stroke the team then selects the ball with which to play out the hole, playing alternate shots. The selection can be made explicitly (by announcing which ball is selected) or implicitly (by playing a 2nd stroke with either of the balls, or by playing a new ball, other then a Provisional ball, from the teeing ground.) An explicit selection may be changed before playing the 2nd stroke. The partner of the player whose ball is selected must play the second stroke with this selected ball. (for playing in incorrect order see Rule 29-3) Once the selection is made, the non-selected ball becomes a wrong ball. 2. Provisional Balls After the players have selected the ball, Rule 27-2 is applicable. Before the selection is made, the following Rules cover the play of a Provisional Ball: 1. A PB can only be played if both balls may be Lost outside a Water Hazard or Out of Bounds. 2. a. Only one of the players may play a PB and the PB must be played after both players have teed off. b. A PB played before either of the partners has teed off deems the already played ball to be the selected ball. 3. If either of the original balls is found in bounds or is lost in a Water Hazard, the PB must be abandoned. 4. Clause #c of the definition of Lost Ball applies to each original ball separately."
  2. Greensomes rules.

    From a book called " Golf: It's Rules And Decisions" by Richard Francis first published in 1936. SELECTIVE DRIVE FOURSOME : Both partners shall put a ball in play from every tee and having done so shall, before another shot be played, determine which ball shall continue for that hole. Having driven, and the selection having been made, the rules of foursome ( not four-ball) then apply and no further selection is permitted. Under this rule, if both balls from the tee be out of bounds, lost or unplayable, or if one ball be one of these and other ball another, then the partners shall decide which ball shall be played, and if the man's ball be chosen then the woman shall play again from the tee and vice versa. If from the tee one player's ball be out of bounds, lost or unplayable, that player may not replay the shot from the tee. Either the partner's ball must be played for that hole ( if the other ball be chosen) the partner shall plasy again from the tee and the ball continued for that hole. From an old Decision in the combined R&A/USGA Decision Book in 1976. Rule 15 Decision 65/27/251: Question.- In a Greensome two partner drove at a bogey three hole; one drive was very poor, but playable, the other out of bounds. the player whose ball was out of bounds played another ball, put it near the pin, and her side got a four with that ball. Was that allowed, or should they have played the poor drive? It was argued that one of the partner would have had to drive again if both balls had been out of bounds. Answer.- Greensome competitions are not legislated for the Rules Of Golf. They are , however, a modification of foursome, and Rule 15 regarding the order of play should be applied. In the case cited the player who drove out of bounds should not have played a second ball off the tee under Rule 29-1a. If her side decided to select this drive her partner should have played three off the tee, since penalty strokes do not affect the order of play ( Rule 15-1). Since the player played out of turn, her side lost the hole ( Rule 15-2).
  3. Greensomes rules.

    I'm afraid they are bound to differ. Greensomes are not covered by the Rules of Golf. As far as I can determine, the favoured route is that the team choose the one that gives the most favourable relief option and the partner takes that relief and plays. The principle being that both players have made their first stroke and after that, everything is alternate. IMO the same would apply if both balls were OB or one OB and the other in a WH (or even deemed unplayable).
  4. Rule Forum is it alive?

    MERRY XMAS to all that bother
  5. I seem to be the only one posting here. Should the forum be abandoned?
  6. No TV Call-ins

    http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/articles/2017/12/local-rule--new-video-review-protocols-introduced-for-2018.html
  7. Playing with a partner precludes a score from being a qualifier. But your results must be reported to your home club if the comp was not at your course. New rule by England Golf since start of 2017.
  8. Whoops !!!

    15-2 is about a Substituted Ball 15-3 is about a Wrong Ball
  9. Of course it is not proposed that handicaps are adjusted directly from these returns. They are only to be used as supporting (or otherwise) information at Annual Review time. Not really different from results in internal competitions where the handicap committee have much 'local knowledge'. Note that matchplay is specifically excluded, with good reason.
  10. Thoughts on rule proposals

    1) Has been debated for years. The RBs don't like the idea so it will never happen. But no one has yet managed to define exactly what a divot hole is. 2) Similar to above. What is a footprint (as opposed to poor raking say)?
  11. Provisional Ball & Pace of Play

    You can do the latter but not the former. The ball becomes lost if it is not found within 5 minutes or any of the other actions in the definition has taken place. It cannot be made lost bey declaration.
  12. Affiliated Clubs have the discretion under Clauses 23 and 24 of the UHS to deal with a player who persistently submits incomplete cards or makes ‘no returns’..
  13. 9 hole comps

    Yes the regulation changed Jan 2016. Any 9 holes of an 18 hole course can be rated. It's only a paper excercise by England Golf
  14. 9 hole comps

    You divide the SIs for that 9 by 2. For example, in the nine holes to be played the stroke indices in hole-number sequence are as follows: Hole No. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 SI from the 18- hole scorecard 14 10 4 16 2 8 6 12 18 SI for the nine hole scorecard 7 5 2 8 1 4 3 6 9
  15. 9 hole comps

    Just curious. How many knew that prior to 2016, the handicap of cat 1 players was not adjusted after playing in a 9 hole comp, whatever their score?