AAA

Members
  • Content count

    17
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About AAA

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Personal Information

  • Golf Handicap
    0

Recent Profile Visitors

417 profile views
  1. Markers are not referees, so cannot make decisions. If the marker does not agree with the player's score he should not sign the card until the committee have made a decision. Nor should the player should not try and return his card. If the player returns his card unsigned without reference to the committee he is DQd. If the marker refuses to sign the card Decision 6-6a/4 applies 6-6a/4 Marker Refuses to Sign Competitor's Card After Dispute Resolved in Favour of Competitor Q.In stroke play, B, who was A's fellow-competitor and marker, refused to sign A's score card on the grounds that A had played outside the teeing ground at the 15th hole. A claimed that he played from within the teeing ground. The Committee decided in favor of A. Despite the Committee's decision, B continued to refuse to sign A's card. Should B be penalized? A.No. A marker is not obliged to sign a card he believes to be incorrect, notwithstanding the determination of the Committee. However, the marker must report the facts and authenticate those scores which he considers correct. The Committee should accept certification of A's score at the 15th hole by anyone else who witnessed the play of the hole. If no witness is available, the Committee should accept A's score without certification.
  2. This is more accurate and informative http://www.randa.org/News/2016/12/New-Local-Rule-for-Golf
  3. No. That's been around since the last century
  4. You or playing partner could have run over and moved it.
  5. As you won't be officially playing in the qualifying competition you can't be DQd for not returning your card. It is up to you to decide to return (or not) the card for initial handicap allocation. If you do put it in, you should make it clear that it is for initial allocation (preferably giving it to the handicap sec directly). If you just put it 'in the box' it is likely to get lost. When putting in 3 cards (or more if the club requirement is such), then you can be selective about which cards you return. The rules seem to have missed the fact that players may try to inflate or sandbag their initial allocation. But they don't make any ruling. Of course the game is one of honour.
  6. I would be very interested in your pointing out just which rule that is. It certainly isn't in the Rules of Golf. Are you suggesting you can't use a stray ball that you find during your round or a nearby abandoned tee? The only rule which may be involved is 6-7 "Between completion of a hole and playing from the next teeing ground, the player must not unduly delay play."
  7. Sorry. just reread the article. It is very deficient in information needed to make a ruling but it is not enough to be able to reach the ball with his club. He has to be able to make a stroke.
  8. Not sure that I know what you mean. What did the player do?
  9. The Annual Review is only run once a year generally during the winter after October 1.
  10. The STRI suggest they should only be used on hilly courses if the ground is wet and slippy. England Golf have no interest in them Most greenkeepers do not like them because of the compacted impressions they cause.
  11. More specifically: When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1). but as you didn't play the provisional from such a place, then your original was always the ball in play and, as said, you were correct.
  12. I am a qualified Referee and am happy to chip in if I can help. But David seems to be coping very well
  13. Dropping gives the randomness that came when the ball landed originally. Placing would allow an improvement most of the time.
  14. In stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may play first rather than lift the ball.
  15. I though I just said that ???